.05 Licenses.

A. Temporary Licenses. The Board may not issue any temporary license to practice chiropractic in Maryland.

B. An individual practicing chiropractic without a license shall be prosecuted and subject to penalties as prescribed in Health Occupations Article, Title 3, Subtitle 5, Annotated Code of Maryland.

C. The Board shall issue a license only upon an applicant's successful completion of the:

(1) National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' examination, Parts I, II, III, and IV;

(2) Jurisprudence examination; and

(3) National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' Physiotherapy examination, if applicable.

D. The Board may waive educational or examination requirements for any licensed chiropractor applying to practice exclusively with a visiting organization for not more than 30 days per calendar year if the:

(1) Chiropractor practices in a Board-approved, recognized jurisdiction with an active license in good standing;

(2) Practice is limited exclusively to members of the visiting organization; and

(3) Chiropractor submits a timely request by application in accordance with Board procedures.

E. Display of License in Office. A license holder shall display conspicuously at all times at the license holders' place of business the license granted by the Board.

F. The license holder shall notify the Board of any change in the name or address of the license holder, in writing, within 60 days after the change occurs.

G. Licensure by Credential.

(1) An application for licensure by credential shall be based on a written SPEC examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners, a jurisprudence examination administered by the Board, and the education and professional qualifications of the applicant.

(2) At the Board's discretion, an applicant for licensure by credential shall appear before the Board in person before the license is granted.

H. Renewals.

(1) A license holder failing to renew a license shall:

(a) Be notified by the Board by certified mail of the delinquency; and

(b) Have the license lapse into non-renewed status if the license holder does not renew by September 30th of the renewal year.

(2) Continuing Education.

(a) Upon renewal, when audited by the Board, a license holder shall submit written evidence of the successful completion of the number of continuing education hours and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification required by the Board for renewal.

(b) The license holder shall have completed the required credit hours by the time of renewal.

(c) This evidence may include a photocopy of the official transcript or a report of the completion of the course.

(d) Only a course program approved by the Board may be used to meet the continuing education requirement of §H(2) of this regulation.

(e) The requirement may be waived by the Board upon proof of unusual and extreme hardship or disability, and upon application to the Board at least 60 days before September 1.

I. Reinstatements. An applicant for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for a period of more than 2 years shall be admitted only after satisfying the Board as to the applicant's efficiency by examination and the payment of fees due.

J. Types of Licenses.

(1) The Board shall issue two types of licenses:

(a) A license covering the practice of chiropractic and physical therapy, as defined in Health Occupations Article, §3-101(f) and (g), Annotated Code of Maryland; and

(b) A license permitting the holder to practice chiropractic as defined in Health Occupations Article, §3-101(f) and (g), Annotated Code of Maryland.

(2) An individual holding the chiropractic license and wishing to qualify for the license to practice physical therapy in conjunction with a practice of chiropractic may do so by passing the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners Physiotherapy examination with a minimum score of 75 percent.